Are gauged ears a thing with hip hop?

The place to discuss fashion and ice.
Post Reply
cuTterz
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2018 12:50 am

Mon May 13, 2019 1:24 am

I noticed some dudes and even some of the ladies in the hip hop world are rocking gauged ears with different types of plugs. Some have diamonds and what not as a statement piece. I am just wondering if this is more popular now or is it just something that is being shown more as a normal thing since people in the metal and punk music genre kind of normalized it over the last 10 years.
User avatar
HipHopstical
Posts: 203
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2018 11:24 pm

Wed May 15, 2019 1:18 am

I don't see too many dudes rocking them in the hip hop scene at all, at least not around here. It is mostly people into heavy tats and heavy music.
User avatar
ShArk
Posts: 187
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2018 4:31 am

Sat May 18, 2019 1:47 am

HipHopstical wrote:
Wed May 15, 2019 1:18 am
I don't see too many dudes rocking them in the hip hop scene at all, at least not around here. It is mostly people into heavy tats and heavy music.
Same in my area though a few of my friends rock the smaller gauged ears, it is generally a metal/rock type of scene more than hip hop.
User avatar
Xport
Posts: 129
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2018 12:03 am

Thu May 23, 2019 7:18 pm

The smaller ones, yeah. Same with piercings elsewhere. It didn't start to become a thing until like 07/08 but a lot of dudes rock face piercings in hip hop now.
User avatar
HipHopstical
Posts: 203
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2018 11:24 pm

Sun May 26, 2019 8:07 pm

Xport wrote:
Thu May 23, 2019 7:18 pm
The smaller ones, yeah. Same with piercings elsewhere. It didn't start to become a thing until like 07/08 but a lot of dudes rock face piercings in hip hop now.
Lil Wayne seemed to have sparked that trend. He has piercings all over. I remember it being a thing with Tupac and his nose ring.
User avatar
Lil P
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2018 4:06 am

Fri Jun 07, 2019 2:06 am

Not in my area. I don't see it much on anyone be them white, black, tan, or purple. People in my area are more into tattoos than piercings I guess.
Post Reply